Review Date: February 03, 2016
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Categories: 
Carpentry - Woodworking
Ceramic Tile
Flooring Sales/Installation/Repair
Remodeling - General
Remodeling - Kitchen & Bathroom
Roofing
Services Performed: 
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
January 04, 2016
Hire Again: 
Yes
Approximate Cost: 
$24,000.00
Description Of Work: 
South Eastern Carpentry along with their subcontractors did all work involved with the renovation of two medium sized bathrooms including demolition, electrical, plastering, plumbing, tile, finish carpentry, and paint.  
Member Comments: 
We spoke with Steve Chorney in the fall of 2015 about renovating two outdated bathrooms in our home in Attleboro. We were having a very difficult time finding contractors who seemed interested in the project at the time of year. Steve told us straight up that he had jobs lined up for the rest of the fall and would likely have an opening some time in the beginning of January. He said if we were willing to hold off on the project until then SEC would like the work. From first impression you can easily tell Steve is a contractor that you want to work with. He is excellent when it comes to communication. He picks up every phone call and if he his unavailable, he will call you back almost immediately.
 The reason we were trying to expedite this project was due to a water leak in the upstairs master bath. The leak was ruing our kitchen ceiling and we did not know what the source was. We had a plumber come out to diagnose the problem and we were told water was running along the floor of the bath and getting into the walls where it meets the drywall.  Steve came out to the house in early September. He came with a notepad and took detailed notes on what our situation was. We told him what the plumber had mentioned to us and he immediately shot down that theory and did a test with us to prove the plumber was wrong. He explained what we needed to do and how to solve the problem for good. Steve suggested notifying our insurance carrier of the problem and go through them to get money for repairs. After a pretty low estimate from our insurance, Steve took it upon himself to meet with the adjuster and get us more money for the project. 
We had already purchased a lot of the materials including vanities, toilets, granite, sinks, faucets, and lights.  We were basically looking for the labor and coordination of putting together two brand new bath rooms and to solve our plumbing issues. We ended up having to go all the way back to the studs for our master bath. Steve suggested we take out the existing shower/tub combo so the plumber would have access to the pipes and fix the water leak. After the plumbing was rectified, Steve said his crew would build a brand new tile shower sitting on top of a new tub.
Steve met with us on a shopping trip to pick out the tiles as well as flooring. He said he would gladly pick up all materials for the job and keep receipts to show everything that was needed to put these bathrooms together. Bathroom renovation is a huge project in a home. There are so many details including plumbing, electrical, plastering. That doesn't even touch the rebuilding of the bathrooms which was done by Steve's coworkers.
Steve and his guys were absolutely the best workers you could ever hope for to have in your home. Not only are they exceptional at their profession, they are a joy to be around. They are extremely polite, respectful, friendly, and outgoing family men. We have two small boys aged 3 and 5 who loved having the guys around. Steve was 100% accurate with the timeline to perform the job. Any issues that came up along the way were immediately addressed and solved. Steve and his crew explain everything in great detail so we can clearly understand what they are doing and if we are satisfied with how the work came out. When all work was completed, we could not have been more pleased.
SEC is the way to go for A+ work at an extremely fair price. The quality of work and attention to detail these men provide is above and beyond anything we've ever seen from several other companies. Don't hesitate if you can get them available to work on your home. They are worth every penny and the work is a lasting impression that proves it.
Share on Band of Neighbors: 
Yes
Page Of Happiness Nominee

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

Review Date: February 03, 2016
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Categories: 
Carpentry - Unfinished
Carpentry - Woodworking
Remodeling - General
Remodeling - Kitchen & Bathroom
Roofing
Services Performed: 
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
February 03, 2016
Hire Again: 
Yes
Approximate Cost: 
$27,000.00
Description Of Work: 
Kitchen renovation
Member Comments: 

If there were a way to award a higher rating than A to Steve and his team at South Eastern Carpentry, I would happily do so.

 

As others have stated, I found everyone involved, but Steve in particular, exceptionally diligent, focused, punctual, reliable, attentive to the client’s needs, and incredibly well organized.   Steve’s attention to detail is just amazing and I never found that I had to remind him or prod him on any aspect of the renovation.  (He also always answers his phone).  His team is terrific and knows every aspect of construction and they worked quickly and efficiently.  My entire job was completed in under 2 weeks.

 

Everything went smoothly from beginning to end.  Steve and his team are truly craftsmen and it was a joy to watch them put this renovation together.  I had never hired a contractor before and I did not know really what to expect, having heard stories from other people about their bad experiences.    Also, as I am a woman living alone, I was a bit wary of having strange workmen in the house.  
But South Eastern Carpentry is way above the norm in every respect – you cannot find, for any price, a better team of people to work on your project.  I feel very fortunate to have found them and the result is a kitchen that is ten times more wonderful than I imagined – I could never have put this together on my own.

 

Other reviews have mentioned price.  I found Steve’s bid to be in the same ballpark as the two others who came to bid on the job.  It was a fair price and worth every cent.  I would never hire anyone else.  Go with this company – you won’t regret it. 




Share on Band of Neighbors: 
Yes
Page Of Happiness Nominee

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

Review Date: January 27, 2016
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Categories: 
Carpentry - Woodworking
Deck Maintenance
Decks & Porches
Roofing
Services Performed: 
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
December 07, 2015
Hire Again: 
Yes
Approximate Cost: 
$36,000.00
Description Of Work: 
Steve and his team removed an existing 12x16 deck and built a 12x40 deck with a Swim Spa built into it.
Member Comments: 
I contracted with South Eastern Carpentry to build a new 12' x 40' deck made of PVC decking onto my home.  My deck is 10 feet off the ground and I needed the deck to have a 15' x 8' swim spa built into it so it appeared the swim spa was floating.  I got many quotes for this very complex job and While South Eastern Carpentry was not the lowest bid they worked with me and I felt that they were the only ones up for this very complex job.  They did not disappoint!  First Steve reviewed every detail of the job with me and had professional plans drawn up.  Even before he started the job he stayed in contact and kept me apprised of their start date. When they started the job they arrived exactly at the time they stated and they showed up every day at 7AM and worked until dark including rainy days. HIs team is very professional and they kept a very clean work space.  The platform to hold the Swim Spa needed to be strong and built to precision so that the swim spa looks as though it is floating at the deck surface, it came out so well that the building inspector was even impressed how durable and done with expertise it was.  So They finished the main deck and had to stop while we waited for the Swim Spa to be delivered.  Steve was at the delivery to guide the crane and swim spa into its exact location according to the plans.  The deck is now finished with LED lighting on every post and I have my 20,000 LB Swim spa built into my deck 10 feet off the ground exactly as I wanted. 
The finished product is absolutely beautiful!  The detail  and workmanship is unbelievable we could not be happier with the finished product.
I would strongly recommend South Eastern Carpentry and will certainly use them again.  The cost may be slightly higher but the results and lack of stress knowing you are getting a professional and quality job done correctly and on time is well worth the extra money.
Share on Band of Neighbors: 
Yes
Company Response: 
I am honored and humbled to be chosen for this build ! It was great working with you and building you the exact structure you desired! I am very thankful that you realize the time and energy we put into quality , and that price is effected when quality and accuracy are imperative ! Thank you again for this opportunity ! Steve [hyperlink removed] to see this on featured projects

Review Photos: 



OverallA
PriceC
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA
Additional Questions Answered when completing this review

How much did the final cost compare to the original estimate? right on

How does the value of the work compare to the price? I got more than my money's worth

How far in advance did you schedule the work? more than 2 weeks

Did you find the company through Angie's List? yes

If yes, which source(s)? website

Why did you choose this contractor? reputation

Have you used this company before? this is the first time I've used this company

What did you like most about this contractor? Quality of Work and professionalism


Review Date: December 26, 2015
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Categories: 
Carpentry - Unfinished
Carpentry - Woodworking
Decks & Porches
Hauling
Roofing
Services Performed: 
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
December 01, 2015
Hire Again: 
Yes
Approximate Cost: 
$25,000.00
Description Of Work: 
complete tear down, redesign and rebuild to current code of 40' x 13' deck.
Member Comments: 

From the owner Steve to his crew everything went outstanding.

They were always on time, neat organized and very professional. The workmanship and attention to detail is more than you can find anywhere these days.

I would highly recommend South Eastern Carpentry to everyone!


Share on Band of Neighbors: 
Yes

OverallA
PriceB
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

Review Date: September 17, 2015
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Categories: 
Carpentry - Woodworking
Deck Maintenance
Decks & Porches
Framing
Roofing
Services Performed: 
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
August 07, 2015
Hire Again: 
Yes
Approximate Cost: 
$29,000.00
Description Of Work: 
Designed and constructed residential 2 tiered pressure treated deck, comprised of a 26x16 lower section and a 26x10 upper section. The tiers are connected by a 6 step 48" stairway and the facing of the upper deck (on approach from the lower deck) is completely finished as a wall. The lower deck is accessed from (lower) yard level by a 10 step 48" stairway with single landing on approach. The entire project was built to conceal an existing wall of boulders; which was integrated into the design and construction.
Member Comments: 
Our home is built into a steep hill, with approx 18' of land behind the house leading to (approx) a 10' high wall of boulders - above which is fairly flat lot of land with natural tree line and State forest abutment. The existing deck provided no access to the upper part of our land; the piece of our property which abuts the State forest was only accessible by climbing a 10' wall of boulders so was essentially unused. South East Carpentry provided a solution that not only enhanced the overall look of this back yard area (by hiding the majority of the unfinished boulder wall), but provided VERY FUNCTIONAL access to the upper part of our property.
Our site was reviewed in detail, several brainstorming sessions were done, preliminary (hand) sketches were presented and upon confirmation of the design the quote was presented, reviewed and accepted. Architectural designs were drawn up for review before work was started. NOTHING was left to the imagination and all questions were answered thoroughly.
Everyone at South East Carpentry was EXTREMELY polite and professional. They communicated wonderfully, kept a clean workplace and were respectful in every way. Work was done on schedule with absolutely no exceptions and/or surprises.
Now the work - these are, in my opinion, master craftsmen. The quality of their work is unmatched by anything I have ever seen. EVERY piece of the deck is finished as you would expect to see in a million dollar home. From the perfectionist cuts to the picture framed deck and stairs, to the trim finished posts; no detail is overlooked. Even the frame work was artistry...I can't say enough good things about the quality of their work, this is a very professional outfit.

Share on Band of Neighbors: 
Yes

OverallA
PriceB
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

Review Date: September 16, 2015
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Categories: 
Carpentry - Woodworking
Deck Maintenance
Decks & Porches
Roofing
Services Performed: 
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
June 08, 2015
Last Modified Date: 
September 18, 2015
Hire Again: 
Yes
Approximate Cost: 
$14,000.00
Description Of Work: 
South Eastern Carpentry built a beautiful new deck at my home.
Member Comments: 
Stephen Chorney who runs SEC was extremely professional throughout the process.  I received a detailed written proposal, prompt follow-up and quick responses to all of my questions and concerns.  The old deck was removed quickly as it posed a hazard at my house.  Stephen understood this and rearranged his schedule to meet this urgent request.  We set a date for the deck project to begin and he was able to start earlier than expected.  The team arrived and worked long days to finish the project within the week.  The finished deck meets all codes and regulations.  Stephen has a detailed understanding of what's required in each town.  He took care of securing all necessary permits in a timely manner.  The construction itself is beautiful and he and his team take great pride in their work.  They are extremely professional and great to work with.  I would highly recommend South Eastern Carpentry Inc.

Share on Band of Neighbors: 
Yes
Company Response: 
Thank you for the kind words

OverallA
PriceB
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

Review Date: July 27, 2015
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Categories: 
Carpentry - Woodworking
Deck Maintenance
Decks & Porches
Roofing
Services Performed: 
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
July 03, 2015
Hire Again: 
Yes
Approximate Cost: 
$20,000.00
Description Of Work: 
Removed old deck, replaced with new, Azek deck.
Member Comments: 
Steve and South Eastern Carpentry were a pleasure to deal with.  Steve returned all of our phone calls promptly.  Sat down with us to go over the scope of the work and  made excellent suggestions when we were choosing decking material.  The quality of his work (and the work of his employees) is outstanding.  He takes obvious pride in the excellent job he does.  The work took about a week to complete and every day he and his employees arrived on time and put in a full day.  They were meticulous about picking up afterward.  Their craftmanship is evident and we are now the happy owners of a beautiful new deck that will, no doubt, last us a lifetime.  I would happily, and without hesitation, hire South Eastern Carpentry again.  We are already planning our next project.
Share on Band of Neighbors: 
Yes
Company Response: 
Thank you so much !!!

OverallA
PriceB
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

Review Date: June 29, 2015
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Categories: 
Carpentry - Unfinished
Decks & Porches
Roofing
Services Performed: 
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
June 25, 2015
Hire Again: 
Yes
Approximate Cost: 
$18,500.00
Description Of Work: 
Rebuilt deck, installed new patio sliding glass door.
Member Comments: 
South Eastern Carpentry did an outstanding job building our new deck and installing a new patio door.  We had an old, unusable deck that we needed to replace.  We are very happy with the results.  They tore down our existing deck and installed a new deck made out of pressure treated lumber.  They also cut a hole in the side of my house and installed a new 6ft vinyl sliding patio door. 
Before hiring Steve, he provided a very professional proposal outlining every detail of the job.  I could tell when I first met him to go over the job that he was very passionate about his work.  I felt very comfortable speaking with him about what I wanted and listening to his advice on what to do.  Steve's quote was very fair.  He was not the cheapest, however the quality of his and his crews work really shows on the finished product.  Like other reviewers have said, you get what you pay for.
Some notes about the work:  Steve and his crew arrived early everyday, they completed the job on schedule.  Steve was fantastic about providing updates and calling me with any issues while they were working.  They cleaned up thoroughly everyday when they were done working.  After the job was over they cleaned, raked, checked my yard for nails and screws.  They made the area look like they had not been there.    
I would definitely hire South Eastern Carpentry to build my deck again or any other work on my house.
Share on Band of Neighbors: 
Yes
Page Of Happiness Nominee

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

Review Date: June 12, 2015
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Categories: 
Deck Maintenance
Decks & Porches
Roofing
Services Performed: 
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
June 09, 2015
Hire Again: 
Yes
Approximate Cost: 
$16,500.00
Description Of Work: 
Rebuilt deck.  Reinforced deck frame and foundation.  Replaced rails and decking with composite material.
Member Comments: 
Steve and his crew did a great job with our deck.  They completely dismantled a 20 year old wood deck and replaced it with new composite Timbertech decking and rails.  The crew spent a great deal of time reinforcing the existing frame, support structure, hangers and posts prior to adding the new decking.  This work was essential and was clearly outlined in the proposal we received from Steve prior to him winning the bid.  None of the other contractors we met with provided such a detailed proposal and were not nearly as concerned with the deck foundation/support.  We were greatly impressed with team's attention to detail throughout the project.  Steve and the crew were extremely professional, friendly and neat/clean.  They were great around our very curious 5 year old son when he was home from school.  The job was completed on time (5 days) and on budget.  Steve and his team truly care about their craftsmanship and the quality of their work.  Again, the attention to detail is second to none.  You get what you pay for with this crew.  We would definitely use them again.
Share on Band of Neighbors: 
Yes
Company Response: 
I am humbled by your kind words ! Thank you so much for hiring us !
Page Of Happiness Nominee

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

Review Date: June 02, 2015
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Category: 
Roofing
Services Performed: 
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
May 25, 2015
Hire Again: 
Yes
Approximate Cost: 
$13,450.00
Description Of Work: 
Replace old deck with new deck, 16 x 16.

Member Comments: 
We hired South Eastern Carpentry to build us a new deck out of pressure-treated wood. Steve was very responsive to design changes before the build started and adapted easily to hiccups once the build actually started. He and his crew arrived on time every morning and completed the job in six days. They left the site neat every evening and totally clean at the end of the build. We are very happy with the finished product. The deck looks beautiful and sturdy. We would not hesitate to recommend South Eastern Carpentry.


Share on Band of Neighbors: 
No
Company Response: 
Thank you so much

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

Review Date: June 02, 2015
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Category: 
Roofing
Services Performed: 
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
May 22, 2015
Hire Again: 
Yes
Approximate Cost: 
$30,000.00
Description Of Work: 
Built a new composite deck, including skirting enclosing the bottom of the deck, and lighting.
Member Comments: 
Steve and South Eastern Carpentry did everything that they said that they'd do, and within the timeframe that they said they'd do it.  They arrived every day on time and provided constant updates on the status of the project.  When the job was done, they left no sign that they'd been there and everything was kept very tidy. Any minor issues were followed up on.
The work wasn't the cheapest option, but it was extremely well done and worth the cost for the highest level of quality.  Now that it's finished, not only would we do it again, but we'd do it with no hesitation.
Highly recommended, particularly for decks.
Share on Band of Neighbors: 
Yes

OverallA
PriceB
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

Review Date: June 01, 2015
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Categories: 
Carpentry - Woodworking
Decks & Porches
Roofing
Siding
Windows
Services Performed: 
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
May 04, 2015
Last Modified Date: 
July 27, 2015
Hire Again: 
Yes
Approximate Cost: 
$18,000.00
Description Of Work: 
On this date, South Eastern Carpentry removed my old deck and replaced it with a gorgeous new one.
Member Comments: 

Several years ago South Eastern Carpentry replaced my roof, last year they replaced all the siding, trim and windows. That's why this year we had them replace the deck. They only use high quality materials which is a perfect match for their high quality workmanship. The deck along with the other work turned out terrific. Steve Chorney and his crew were courteous and friendly, but above all they are professional! They always let us know what to expect, and identified many problems we didn't know we had (which they took care of as part of the job). They are also very punctual, which is unusual in today's times. If I had to some up South Eastern Carpentry in one statement it would be; 'They care more about my house than I do!' I would highly recommend them to anyone looking for exterior or interior work.

Share on Band of Neighbors: 
Yes
Page Of Happiness Nominee

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

Review Date: May 28, 2015
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Categories: 
Remodeling - Kitchen & Bathroom
Roofing
Siding
Windows
Services Performed: 
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
July 07, 2014
Hire Again: 
Yes
Approximate Cost: 
$300.00
Description Of Work: 
Replaced a basement window. It went very well. Very pleased with the new window.
Share on Band of Neighbors: 
No

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

Review Date: March 29, 2015
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Categories: 
Carpentry - Woodworking
Flooring Sales/Installation/Repair
Painting - Interior
Remodeling - General
Remodeling - Kitchen & Bathroom
Roofing
Windows
Services Performed: 
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
March 22, 2015
Hire Again: 
Yes
Approximate Cost: 
$65,000.00
Description Of Work: 
Renovate a condo uit.
Member Comments: 

I recently bought a condo unit that needed to be upgraded. The unit hadn’t had any renovations done in the past 15 years. I called South Eastern Carpentry and Steve Chorney came to my rescue. I have had other projects done by Steve and I can only say he provides excellent work! What I like about Steve is that he will work with you and come up with solutions to get the job done. He is very verse in his knowledge of renovating properties.  I originally had a set budget to renovate my condo, but after reviewing with Steve the options to renovate, I decided to increase my budget and the results come out excellent. Please note that Steve will never pressure you into spending more, he just makes the suggestions and you make the decisions. Steve will do what you ask of him. He does have a really great knowledge of what is best.  The condo after renovation looks really fantastic and I am very pleased!!  Another thing I like about Steve is that he answers his phone! You call him and he will answer that moment and if he is busy he will get back to you within an hour or so.

Now let’s talk about the work he has done for me. We had to paint the whole place; it hasn’t been painted for 15 years. Steve only uses quality water based paints.  Not that paint that smells for months then peels after a few years. When his crew Tom and John paint, they only use quality paint and detail their work to top quality. The previous owner had put more holes in every wall of the unit to hang their pictures. Tom and John patch every hole, which was many, to provide beautifully smooth walls. Also the ceiling took many gallons of paint to make it look like new, Tom and John did an excellent job fixing the ceilings. Also they did a great job painting the windows. The original owners had put all kinds on foam insulation on the window frames. Tom and John had to spend the time to clean all that foam insulation off the windows to make windows look clean again.  They did an excellent job painting the condo.

The stairs in the condo where carpeted. I wanted bare stairs. When the carpeting was removed the stairs had rough boards as the underlayment. Steve and his team rebuilt the stairs putting new oak threads and painted white risers. The stairs came out beautifully. Actually they look great when you first enter the condo. I am very happy how they came out.

The kitchen needed to be upgraded. First I wanted to just add granite counter tops. I could have gone with that but Steve suggested installing new kitchen cabinets.  I was hesitated at first but I do trust Steve’s opinion. I did go with a kitchen upgrade with new cabinets and I do not regret that decision. The kitchen came out beautifully and looks great. Looking back, to spend the money to get granite counter tops on the existing cabinets would have been a big mistake. Again Steve only makes the suggestions; it is up to you to make the right decision. I am pleased with the decision I made and the kitchen looks great!

The contractors that Steve hires are of top notch quality. For example I needed two bedrooms carpeted in my condo. The person Steve subcontracted did an excellent job! The carpet was precisely cut around the moldings of the room. It really came great! The plumber he subcontracted did and excellent of installing all the plumbing fixtures in the bathrooms and kitchen. Very nice plumbing work!  The electrician also did a nice job of running a line to the microwave, not to mention the nice job Steve’s team did in installing in the microwave.





One thing you will find with Steve and his team is that they will always clean up after their daily work. Notice I say Steve and his team. Steve keeps a personal relationship with the people who work for him. This relationship is very important to me since it provides me with a guarantee that the work done is of top quality. I only hire companies that have a good manger worker relationship. South Eastern Carpentry is that type of company!!

I have a few final words from my review. You cannot go wrong with South Eastern Carpentry. Steve Chorney is an honest and respectable individual. I have had multiple projects done by Steve and his team. They have provided excellent work and service that totally satisfying my needs. Steve will always work with you and suggest the best solution. You are always in command. Steve will do what you decide, but do please listen to his suggestions.  He has always steered me in the right direction and I have never regretted taking his recommendations. Steve is always looking for your best interest.


Share on Band of Neighbors: 
Yes
Page Of Happiness Nominee

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

Review Date: March 21, 2015
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Categories: 
Carpentry - Unfinished
Carpentry - Woodworking
Painting - Interior
Remodeling - General
Remodeling - Kitchen & Bathroom
Roofing
Services Performed: 
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
March 20, 2015
Hire Again: 
Yes
Approximate Cost: 
$24,000.00
Description Of Work: 
Provider did all work involved with the extensive renovation of two small/medium sized bathrooms with exception of electrical and plumbing which was provided by other contractors but overseen by SEC. Demo, tile, finish carpentry, paint etc.
Member Comments: 
Steve Chorney and his team provided excellent service in a professional manner. This is the second large project we have had them do in our Medfield home with in the last year. Their attention to detail and concern for customer satisfaction is the best we have ever experienced. SEC Inc. does superior work at a price which is more than fair and worth every penny. The guys are hard workers and a welcomed presence in your home even after weeks. We highly recommend this company to anyone looking for A+ quality.
Share on Band of Neighbors: 
Yes
Company Response: 
Thank you so much for the kind words

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

Review Date: October 08, 2014
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Categories: 
Remodeling - General
Remodeling - Kitchen & Bathroom
Roofing
Services Performed: 
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
August 01, 2014
Hire Again: 
Yes
Approximate Cost: 
$30,000.00
Description Of Work: 
Stephen Chorney and his team gutted our outdated kitchen and renovated it ceiling to floors, including electricity and plumbing, into a beautiful, functional, modern room. What initially made me select SEC over other contractors recommended by Angie's List was Steve's promise to us to stick to the time and budget we agreed upon and cover all aspects of the job with his subcontractors. He delivered on that promise with quality work. The crew was punctual, knowledgeable and thorough, and actually pleasant to have around. These fellows clearly take pride in their work, and are quite concerned that the customer is pleased with the product. Steve listened to what we wanted and offered practical and tasteful recommendations. He brought me along on a few shopping trips, and provided us with a few great samples of products when we felt overwhelmed with our choices. As lovely as the kitchen is, it still fits with the flow of our home. Steve stayed in consistent communication with me throughout the job. Our house, in addition to being old, had been through some unconventional renovations before we bought it, so it presented some quirky problems. Any time an issue came up, Steve communicated it to me right away and then came up with a creative, appropriate solution. One issue was particularly alarming because it involved a potential problem with the structure. Steve was honest with me about his concerns - he does not make promises he cannot keep - and we brought in the town inspector. It turned out that the structure is sound. Steve's work is aesthetically pleasing, but he will also make sure that it is safe. The crew of SEC is professional, conscientious and trustworthy. Our kitchen is so pretty now, we are thinking of renovating other rooms. I would bring in SEC for future jobs without hesitation, and I heartily recommend their services.
Share on Band of Neighbors: 
No
Company Response: 
What a beautiful space ! We thank you for the job!

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

Review Date: September 04, 2014
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Categories: 
Builders - Garages/Barns/Sheds
Carpentry - Unfinished
Carpentry - Woodworking
Decks & Porches
Roofing
Services Performed: 
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
June 16, 2014
Hire Again: 
Yes
Approximate Cost: 
$21,000.00
Description Of Work: 
South Eastern Carpentry built an affordable deck on our property that seamlessly blended into the aesthetic of our colonial farmhouse. They were complete professionals and completed our project on time and on schedule. We plan to use them again in the future.
Member Comments: 
Steve met with my wife and I and walked through what it is that South Eastern Carpentry does. He is a smart, well spoken individual that took the time to listen to what we wanted with our deck. He walked us through the materials he suggested using, the layout and design that he thought would best fit the space, told us to meet with some of his suppliers and then provided us with some images and ideas for our deck. He also talked through the care that he would take to make sure that the size of the deck was proportional to the house in addition to maintaining its colonial aesthetic. He was very patient with us as we arrived at a design and took the time to visit us on numerous occasions leading up to the build.
Steve was very honest and upfront about the work that he and his team do and the finished product lived up to the billing. He prepared us for all of the potential hiccups (we were building close to protected wetlands and needed apply for special permits) and handled them in a timely basis while keeping us informed of his progress. His proposal was spot on in terms of price; there were no surprises once they started work. Steve and his team conducted their work on time and on schedule. They were a pleasure to be around whenever we interacted with them on site and they were eager to field any questions that my wife and I threw their way as they were building.
The finished product is fantastic: exactly what we envisioned. I plan on using South Eastern Carpentry for more work on our home in the future and recommend their services to anyone in the MetroWest area that asks. 
We highly recommend Steve and his team at South Eastern Carpentry.
Share on Band of Neighbors: 
No
Company Response: 
I am very happy we were able to serve you!
Page Of Happiness Nominee

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

Review Date: July 31, 2014
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Categories: 
Builders - Garages/Barns/Sheds
Carpentry - Woodworking
Roofing
Siding
Services Performed: 
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
August 05, 2013
Last Modified Date: 
December 17, 2014
Hire Again: 
Yes
Approximate Cost: 
$30,000.00
Description Of Work: 
1. Installed Vinal Siding
2. Demo'd and framed a garage conversion to a family room
Member Comments: 
I’ve purposely waited a year before writing a review where I wanted this review to carry real weight.  The work Steve and his team performed has held up beautifully over the rough 2013 and 2014 winter.  The finished work looks just as it did when they completed the work a year ago.  They were all very professional and exceed my expectations on schedule, quality, and clean up.  I’ve recommended their services to family and friends where my neighbor has just hired them for an addition to their home based on the work performed on my home. 
In my opinion, there’s no greater risk than hiring a contractor who will perform quality work in exchange for your MONEY.  I highly recommend Steve (South Eastern Carpentry) for contract work on your home and/or business.
 
Share on Band of Neighbors: 
Yes
Company Response: 
Thank you! A Pleasent surprise
Page Of Happiness Nominee

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

Review Date: July 28, 2014
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Categories: 
Builders - Garages/Barns/Sheds
Garage Doors
Gutter Repair & Replacement
Roofing
Siding
Windows
Services Performed: 
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
July 23, 2014
Hire Again: 
Yes
Approximate Cost: 
$120,000.00
Description Of Work: 
Designed and built garage, installed windows and resided the complete house including new trim and gutters

Member Comments: 
Steve and his crew did ( who were very nice and kept a clean job site!) did an exemplary job in both of these large projects.  
He took the time to meet with us and was always on time, communicated well and was upfront about the issues and how to solve them.  He was thorough in the design work and worked with the engineers to get the setbacks, slope and job site correct so we had the right drainage and runoff.  He was meticulous on the details to get the plans done and design correct so there were not any issues during the build process.
Once we went to the build phase, Steve had a great team of people do the site work, the concrete, the framing and finish work.  They worked hard and put lots of effort and care into their work,  They would arrive early and stay late to get the work done and there was progress every day, the site was clean, picked up, and the building process impact to us was minimal.  We would always catch up a few times a week on progress, discuss the details, work through any unforeseen changes.  All of the components, the electrician, garage door suppliers, excavators, plasters etc did super work and we were very pleased.   
We were able to get Steve to take on some additional work and we asked him to re-side the entire house,which included stripping the old cedar shakes and clapboards then install new Cedar Impressions and Vinyl siding, re-trim and re-gutter the house.  We are extremely pleased with how it turned out.
He communicates well, we had up front discussions on cost and additional items, he was able to make it all work, and we are pleased and expect to have him back when we need to have the windows replaced.  
I really looks like a new house!

Share on Band of Neighbors: 
Yes
Company Response: 
It was an awesome project! Thank you !

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

Review Date: July 06, 2014
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Category: 
Roofing
Services Performed: 
No
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
November 01, 2013
Hire Again: 
Yes
Home Build Year: 
1993
Description Of Work: 
Nothing
Member Comments: 
I have met with STEVE several times to evaluate doing some work at our home. The timing has not worked out for us to work together. I continue to be hopeful that we will be able to, once things in my life slow down. Thanks.
Share on Band of Neighbors: 
Yes

OverallA
PriceN/A
QualityN/A
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

Review Date: June 10, 2014
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Category: 
Roofing
Services Performed: 
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
June 02, 2014
Hire Again: 
Yes
Approximate Cost: 
$20,000.00
Description Of Work: 
Detail proposal to build 600 sf deck with enclosed screen porch.
Member Comments: 
Project schedule in progress.
Share on Band of Neighbors: 
Yes

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

Review Date: June 04, 2014
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Category: 
Roofing
Services Performed: 
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
May 09, 2014
Hire Again: 
Yes
Approximate Cost: 
$43,000.00
Description Of Work: 
Built a 3-4 season porch
Member Comments: 
I could not have asked for a better experience working with Steve and his team.  This was the largest project that we’ve had done in our house and it was important that we picked the right person for the job.  Steve not only delivered on every promise but exceed every expectation.  He kept us informed every step of the way from before the job started, throughout the job and until the job was completed.  He did an outstanding job building our porch and the quality is top-notch!  Steve and his team are a great group of dedicated professionals that took our job seriously from beginning to end.  We could not have asked for a better experience and look forward to working with Steve in the future.
Share on Band of Neighbors: 
Yes
Company Response: 
We loved working for you! Thank you for the great experience as well!
Page Of Happiness Nominee

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

Review Date: May 05, 2014
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Categories: 
Decks & Porches
Remodeling - Sunrooms & Patio Enclosures
Roofing
Services Performed: 
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
May 05, 2014
Hire Again: 
Yes
Approximate Cost: 
$53,000.00
Description Of Work: 
Replaced deck and converted screen porch to all year round room.
Member Comments: 
This project went great. Have had a lot of experience with contractors in the past and South Eastern Carpentry exceed our expectations. Every step of the process went well and we actually had fun with it. Steve delivers what he promises and is very professional and a pleasure to work with. The guys on his team Tom, John and Sean are all very knowledgeable, hardworking and easy to have around.
If you are looking for dedication, trustworthiness, skill and follow through it is what you get with SouthEastern. We are so pleased with our new deck and 4 season room we highly recommend them and look forward to having them work in our home again in the future.

Share on Band of Neighbors: 
Yes
Company Response: 
You guys were amazing to work for. It's so enjoyable to work for some one who is eclectic and loves quality workmanship. For some carpentry is income and for few it is life, Art and legacy. I strived to give your family all the stops . Thank you for this beautiful project to be called ours !!!!
Steve
Www.southeasterncarpentryinc.com
Page Of Happiness Nominee

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

Review Date: April 11, 2014
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Category: 
Roofing
Services Performed: 
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
April 04, 2014
Hire Again: 
Yes
Approximate Cost: 
$30,000.00
Description Of Work: 
Totally renovated the main bathroom. Tile floor and new shower add new custom cabinets. Change downstairs half bath to incude a new shower stall and linen closet.
Member Comments: 
Steve and his crew were incredible. From design to the actual finish he was there with answers to questions and design suggestions. The downstairs bathroom was a basic sink and toilet with room for the washer and dryer. These are in the basement. The guys took this area and turned it into a custom linen closet and built in tiled shower. The floor was tiled and a new sink and toilet were installed. Upstairs they ripped out the whole bathroom and refit it with custom woodwork, a new bath and shower and tiling . Paintwork was also redone and many walls reinstalled. Work began promptly at 7 am. And ended between 5 and 6 pm. They were unintrusive and pleasanf. They cleaned every evening before they left. My home never felt invaded. Steve kept us informed at every turn and the guys were always ready to answer questions for us. We were told it would take 2 weeks and it took exactly that. I have several other projects that need doing and Steve is the only contractor I will use. The work is impeccable and I love my new bathrooms!
Share on Band of Neighbors: 
Yes
Company Response: 
It was a true pleasure to work for you!!

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

Review Date: April 07, 2014
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Category: 
Roofing
Services Performed: 
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
March 07, 2014
Hire Again: 
Yes
Approximate Cost: 
$20,000.00
Home Build Year: 
1970
Description Of Work: 
Bathroom remodel
Member Comments: 
South Eastern Carpentry just completed a major bathroom remodel and we couldn’t be happier. Steve is a consummate professional and took full responsibility for finding solutions for complicated design and construction issues, while letting me make all the final decisions. What I especially appreciated was getting daily updates on exactly what to expect. That the project came in on time and on budget was great for meeting my expectations. What causes this project far to exceed my expectations is that the finished bath is beyond beautiful. I feel like I got so much more than I thought I’d be getting! The quality of the workmanship, the quality,
professionalism, and friendliness of Steve’s crew and associates, plus my being able to rely completely on SEC for both technical and aesthetically pleasing solutions all made for a very successful outcome. 

Share on Band of Neighbors: 
No
Company Response: 
Thank you [Member name removed]. It was a pleasure.
Steve

OverallA
PriceB
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

Review Date: April 02, 2014
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Category: 
Roofing
Services Performed: 
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
March 11, 2014
Hire Again: 
Yes
Approximate Cost: 
$20,000.00
Description Of Work: 
They had to gut the bathroom completely and rebuild adding electrical outlet, insulation, new walls and ceiling, custom vanity, rebuild shower, tile, replace heating unit, and paint walls, ceiling, woodwork and door.
Member Comments: 
Stephen met or exceeded all my expectations and communicated with me on a daily basis so there were no surprises.  He took care of all the details and solved any problems that arose.  His workers were polite, professional and extremely trustworthy.  The bathroom came out perfect.  They even hung the shower curtain, installed all towel bars and scrubbed the floors.  The custom vanity is a beautiful piece of furniture.  I could not be more pleased and I look forward to working with Stephen on my next bathroom project.
Share on Band of Neighbors: 
Yes
Company Response: 
Thank you [removed member name]! We look forward to next years project!
Page Of Happiness Nominee

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

Review Date: February 18, 2014
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Categories: 
Remodeling - General
Remodeling - Kitchen & Bathroom
Roofing
Services Performed: 
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
January 06, 2014
Hire Again: 
Yes
Approximate Cost: 
$12,000.00
Description Of Work: 
Total gut job of the powder room/laundry room.
Member Comments: 
It was a pleasure working with Steve and his crew. Everything was done on time or before. They were total professionals. They had vision and design ideas that helped. On time. On budget. Most accommodating contractor we have ever worked with.His sub contractors were just as good. We couldn't be happier.
Share on Band of Neighbors: 
Yes
Company Response: 
Thank you <removed member name> for the kind review. This is the service my company is passionate about delivering each job. Timely, ethical and high quality! It was a pleasure for the whole team!

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

Review Date: February 13, 2014
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Category: 
Roofing
Services Performed: 
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
January 31, 2014
Hire Again: 
Yes
Approximate Cost: 
$19,700.00
Description Of Work: 
gutted and replaced my main bathroom. Also repaired my kitchen ceiling (huge ugly gaping hole from water damage) and repaired the walls in my half bath....painted both baths and kitchen ceiling.
Member Comments: 
Awesome...so professional...finished on time...stayed late to make sure the job would be done on time... Steve, Tommy and John were so pleasant and knowledgeable....I couldn't have asked for a better contracting team....will use them again....my bathrooms are beautiful.....hire them..... they do not disappoint!! Thanks guys for making this renovation so pleasant!!
Share on Band of Neighbors: 
Yes
Company Response: 
Thank you [Member name removed]! It was a great build for my team!
Steve
Page Of Happiness Nominee

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

Review Date: October 31, 2013
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Categories: 
Roofing
Windows
Services Performed: 
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
October 29, 2013
Hire Again: 
Yes
Approximate Cost: 
$12,000.00
Home Build Year: 
1992
Description Of Work: 
Stripped old roof shingles, installed new roof, installed 3 windows and 2 customer provided entryway doors.
Member Comments: 
Steve and his team at South Eastern Carpentry were outstanding, as expected.  This is the second project  they have done for me and I'm very pleased with the top notch work and professionalism they consistently deliver.  The roofing job was completed so fast and to perfection!  Steve had recommended a roof color and product for my home and it really made a huge difference in how it looks.  Plus, I know that with the extra steps they took with every detail, my home will be well protected for many years to come. I had recently planted new shrubs and plants around the foundation area, but not a single branch was damaged thanks to the care they took to protect my new landscaping.
 I had 3 windows installed and they installed a front and side door that I had purchased (again with Steve's expert recommendations.) They encountered some challenges with the door installations, but knew exactly how to handle and everything looks great. The yard each day was cleaned up better than it was before they arrived.
I can't say enough how pleased I am with the work they have done- I would recommend South Eastern Carpentry without reservation. They go above and beyond in everything they do.   I'm wondering what my next project will be....I'm certain that South Eastern Carpentry will be the company I hire to do it.
Thanks guys!
Share on Band of Neighbors: 
Yes
Page Of Happiness Nominee

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

Review Date: October 13, 2013
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Category: 
Roofing
Services Performed: 
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
October 11, 2013
Hire Again: 
Yes
Approximate Cost: 
$13,800.00
Home Build Year: 
1968
Description Of Work: 
  • -Removed and reapplied roofing shingles and ridge vent
  • -Removed and re-installed new seamless gutters and downspouts
  • -Blocked off existing gable vents
  • -Installed new soffit vents with matching vinal
  • -Installed bathroom fan vent

Member Comments: 
SEC did an excellent job replacing my roof. Steve (the owner) was very thorough in explaining what he and his team would be doing and kept me informed of when he would be performing the job. He was easy to deal with and very responsive to any questions I had. On one occasion specifically, he answered an email message I sent after 9pm within 10 minutes.
When the time came for SEC to replace my roof they did everything Steve said they would be doing and more. They showed up promptly at 7am each day and worked until around 5. At the end of each day SEC did a thorough job cleaning up before they left. While working on my roof, they found a hidden second layer of shingles that could not be seen from the outside. Steve still honored the price he originally quoted. His team also hooked up the new bathroom fan vent to the bathroom fan which is something they didn't have to do as we only agreed on installing the vent on the roof originally. 
Everyone at SEC was very courteous to me and my family. They did an excellent job and I would hire them again.
Share on Band of Neighbors: 
Yes

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

Review Date: October 01, 2013
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Categories: 
Decks & Porches
Roofing
Services Performed: 
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
September 26, 2013
Hire Again: 
Yes
Approximate Cost: 
$30,000.00
Description Of Work: 
Roof in 2012
Deck and closed in porch 2013

Member Comments: 
We had a new roof put on in October of 2012. they did a great job and were every professional worked quickly and efficiently they were done in a day and a half.  everything was drawn out for us so we knew what to expect and when to expect it, great job and super clean up of our yard they even blew our leaves off our front yard to make  sure they cleaned up everything. 
this spring (2013 )we decided we wanted a new deck with half enclosed so we called Southeastern Carpentry they walked us threw the whole project drew up the plan submitted it to the architect we ran into a snag with our home being near conservation land again Southeastern stepped up he got us an engineer who could handle the job and reasonably priced. Dealing with our Town conservation committee is no easy task Both the Engineer and Southeastern did all the leg work for us.  Our Conservation committee added some items to the project  gutter down spout ect Southeastern did not take advantage of us by adding on to the price of project he only charged us on his cost of materials and showed us the receipt.
all and all if you want something build right and priced for the work you get Southeastern is a steal they do great quality work at fair prices. They are true professional and i would have them do any project i needed. 
Share on Band of Neighbors: 
Yes
Company Response: 
Thank you [member name removed] !!!
Page Of Happiness Nominee

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

Review Date: September 18, 2013
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Category: 
Roofing
Services Performed: 
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
June 01, 2013
Hire Again: 
Yes
Approximate Cost: 
$10,000.00
Description Of Work: 
Striped and replaced roof, about 30 square
Member Comments: 
Steve and his crew are very professional and a good bunch of guys. They showed up on time and ready to go. They worked through some hot weather and got the job done, and it was a pretty big job. This roof is high and steep, not an easy one to do. They did a great job and it looks great too. When the job was finished they cleaned up so well you wouldn't even know they were there. I wouldn't hesitate to hire South Eastern Carpentry for any job.
Share on Band of Neighbors: 
No

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

Review Date: September 08, 2013
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Category: 
Roofing
Services Performed: 
No
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
September 04, 2013
Hire Again: 
Yes
Home Build Year: 
1993
Description Of Work: 
Am hopeful to have Steve and company do some work this winter. We have not yet been able to coordinate.
Member Comments: 
Have not used him yet
Share on Band of Neighbors: 
No

OverallA
PriceN/A
QualityN/A
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

Review Date: September 03, 2013
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Category: 
Roofing
Services Performed: 
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
January 15, 2013
Hire Again: 
Yes
Approximate Cost: 
$3,000.00
Description Of Work: 
Mostly closet work, riser for washer/dryer, new interior doors
Member Comments: 
We first hired South Eastern Carpentry back in 2009 for new siding and a new roof, and more recently had them back for two much smaller jobs, and have nothing but positive things to say. The siding/roof work was the first job we had done as new first-time homeowners and Steve and his colleagues made it a painless, smooth process. They had to strip off all the original (1970s) wood shingles first, and luckily everything looked ok underneath. You don't realize how many things are stuck to or through the side of your house until it all has to come down or be worked around. Wires, light fixtures, spigots, electrical outlets, gas and electric meters, etc - and when the job was done it looked like they had never been moved, seamlessly reintegrated into the new look. The whole job took about 4.5 days, and each day Steve kept us apprised of the progress and the plan for the next day. 4 years later everything still looks great!
The more recent job was to redo my wife's closet and the washer/dryer closet, and new doors for both. My wife's closet had old, heavy sliding doors and no storage inside, just a bar. Now it looks fantastic and she loves it, which is really all that mattered to me. For the washer dryer, to make our new units fit they needed to be raised off the floor a few inches (long story), so they build a riser with some soundproofing. The best part are the French doors. Somehow Steve found them for a ridiculously low price. We didn't want to be able to see through the glass panes, though, so they frosted them for us and it came out perfect. I'm sure that took some time they weren't planning for, but didn't change the cost.
Finding people to work on or in your home is challenging and stressful. We got lucky by finding South Eastern Carpentry so soon as homeowners. Jobs are pretty much always expensive, but what I really want is someone I can trust who does great work. We work well away from our home, so we can't be around to supervise most of the time. Steve and his guys had run of the house for multiple days on both jobs and left us with absolutely zero reservations about whether they can be trusted, and the physical results speak for themselves. Are they the least expensive option? Probably not, but they also aren't the most expensive, and there are some things you can't put a price on. We will absolutely hire South Eastern again someday, whether for this house or the next.
Share on Band of Neighbors: 
No
Page Of Happiness Nominee

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA
Additional Questions Answered when completing this review

How much did the final cost compare to the original estimate? right on

How does the value of the work compare to the price? I got more than my money's worth

How far in advance did you schedule the work? more than 2 weeks

Did you find the company through Angie's List? no

If no, what was the other source? different site, before we were members here

Why did you choose this contractor? reputation, other, price, liked them when we met

Have you used this company before? I've used this company before

What did you like most about this contractor? honesty, quality of work

What did you like least about this contractor? nothing

What surprises came up during the course of the work? had to do a little work around the chimney

What words of advice would you give other members considering this contractor? If you don't know exactly what you want, trust their suggestions

What words of advice would you give this contractor? relax a bit, you work too much!


Review Date: August 11, 2013
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Category: 
Roofing
Services Performed: 
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
July 15, 2013
Hire Again: 
Yes
Approximate Cost: 
$10,400.00
Home Build Year: 
1959
Description Of Work: 
Stripped off old layer of shingles and replaced roof. 
Member Comments: 
I got quotes from several different companies, most more expensive, and a couple only a hundred or two cheaper. We knew we wanted to go with Southeastern after meeting and talking to Steve. He outlined the whole process to us and explained each step that they would go through. Steve and his crew worked on our roof during the heatwave last month and got the job done in a timely manner. He told us they work 7am-7pm...and sure enough at 645am they were setting up in the +100F weather. The whole process took 2.5-3 days which is a little longer than normal...but Steve was great in communicating that beforehand. With the hot weather, I was surprised they got it done as quickly as they did. Steve was also quick to point out any potential issues he came across and made sure I saw it before making a decision. It was nice to know the company doing work on our home wasn't "fixing" fake issues when you are not home. He showed us areas of concern (chimney lead, flashing issue on addition), yet found ways to come to an agreement on what to do without adding any unforeseen costs. My wife and I would without a doubt recommend South Eastern Carpentry Inc to family, friends, and other angie's list members. Next time we need some professional work done on our home, we will be calling. We could not be any happier with how the job came out and how clean (for a roofing job!) everything was left when finished. 
Share on Band of Neighbors: 
No
Page Of Happiness Nominee

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

Review Date: August 05, 2013
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Category: 
Roofing
Services Performed: 
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
July 01, 2013
Hire Again: 
Yes
Approximate Cost: 
$4,000.00
Description Of Work: 
Replaced roof
Member Comments: 
Great to deal with, very responsive, done when promised, looks great, great cleanup!  Couldn't be happier.
Share on Band of Neighbors: 
Yes
Company Response: 
Thank you so much for the kind words! It was our pleasure to serve you!!

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

Review Date: July 14, 2013
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Categories: 
Carpentry - Woodworking
Roofing
Windows
Services Performed: 
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
July 12, 2013
Hire Again: 
Yes
Approximate Cost: 
$4,000.00
Description Of Work: 
Replaced 2 windows and replaced various exterior trim on home.
Member Comments: 
I could not be happier with the work Steve and his excellent crew did on my home!!!!  You will not find a harder working and more talented crew than SEC.  I had another non Angie's list contractor give me a quote on the job, and he recommended short cuts and low quality replacement windows that were sure to have caused future problems for me. Steve educated me about the proper way to make the needed repairs on my home and I felt reassured that  my home would be in good hands.  The crew went above and beyond to make sure I was happy with the finished project (which they completed in one day!)  Several neighbors commented on the fact that they had never seen a team work so hard and so fast yet do such quality work.
I am very particular about my home and I was so pleased that this team treated my home like their own.  I have a newly renovated bathroom where one window replacement was done, and everything was immaculate after the work was completed- I did not have to worry. 
I can't wait to have them come back in October to do my roof and a few more windows.  Don't hesitate- hire them!  Worth every penny.  I am so glad I found SEC on Angie's list.  Thanks guys- see you in the fall.
Share on Band of Neighbors: 
Yes
Company Response: 
Thank you so much!!!!
Page Of Happiness Nominee

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

Review Date: June 26, 2013
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Categories: 
Carpentry - Woodworking
Decks & Porches
Roofing
Siding
Services Performed: 
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
June 21, 2013
Hire Again: 
Yes
Description Of Work: 
Removed old trim and siding and replaced with new trim and vinyl siding. Rebuilt front porches.
Member Comments: 
If you like contractors that don’t respond to phone calls or e-mails, cut corners on work, sub out every little task, have different crews come and go and drag the process out, then South Eastern Construction is not for you.  Steve and his crew worked tirelessly on re-building our two front porches and siding on our home.  They showed up timely at 7 each day and worked their tails off until 6pm.  It was nice to get to know the friendly crew who paid particular attention to making sure the yard was picked up at the end of each day.  This is important as we have small children.  The kids even got to know the crew as well, always asking where Matt and John were after they left.  The quality of South Eastern's work was excellent.  They took care of the little things.  From building a frame around our hexagon window, to building custom corbels for our bay windows, Steve’s team prides themselves on the details.  Great communication, trust and quality work and craftsmanship like that comes at a premium.  It’s good to know that the exterior of our house is now well built, well protected and looks great.
Share on Band of Neighbors: 
Yes
Company Response: 
Thank you!!!!
Review Photos: 






OverallA
PriceB
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

Review Date: June 07, 2013
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Categories: 
Carpentry - Woodworking
Gutter Repair & Replacement
Painting - Exterior
Roofing
Services Performed: 
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
June 03, 2013
Last Modified Date: 
October 30, 2015
Hire Again: 
Yes
Approximate Cost: 
$55,000.00
Home Build Year: 
1989
Description Of Work: 
Carpentry/ Repaced all fascia board. Entire home.
Roofed three rooflines (Entire Home)
Removed and installed commercial leaf guard gutters (Entire 6,000 square foot  home)
Painted entire home
Member Comments: 
When my husband and I did the final walk around ... we found nothing that needed attention.
The job was perfectly executed by 5 men whom were all perfectionists.  They arrived every weather allowing day at 7AM and left at 6PM.  In our sixty years... we have NEVER seen more hard working, appropriate, conscientious and talented carpenters.
They could do EVERYTHING and ANYTHING!!! It was wonderful not having to deal with separate crews coming and going to do all the different jobs required of  restoring a 25 year old home to it's original beauty (which is what they did do)!!!!  NO word sums up the job they did more than  PRIDE !!!!!!! They took PRIDE in their work and it is the reason we hired them. From the moment Steve Chourney (General Manager) arrived at our home until the last walk through; PRIDE was evident!  
           WE RECCOMMEND THIS CREW WITHOUT RESERVATION, AND WITH STRONG ENTHUSIASM,and would be happy to provide any feedback to any questions one might have..  Dr. and Mrs. Gary E. Borodic
Share on Band of Neighbors: 
Yes
Page Of Happiness Nominee

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

Review Date: June 04, 2013
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Category: 
Roofing
Services Performed: 
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
June 04, 2013
Hire Again: 
Yes
Home Build Year: 
1998
Description Of Work: 
They had to repair some leaks outside of the house on a nantucket style overhang.
Member Comments: 
It was excellent. They were prompt and well skilled in their trade, and everyone who came out was very neat and polite. Their pricing was also reasonable, and I would use them again in the future.
Share on Band of Neighbors: 
Yes

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

Review Date: June 04, 2013
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Category: 
Roofing
Services Performed: 
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
May 24, 2013
Hire Again: 
Yes
Home Build Year: 
1955
Description Of Work: 
Completely took out my old porch and built a new one.  Also removed my old sliding glass door, installed the new one, replaced damaged structure, framed in and trimmed new door.  All of this and a very fair price.  I didn't list the price as it will be different for each person depending on the work.

Member Comments: 
I have to say I am EXTREMELY happy with the work!  My porch and my door are absolutely beautiful!  The quality of work and the craftsmanship are exceptional.  I will definitely use them in the future for several projects.  I recommend Stephen and his crew to everyone!  We are extremely pleased with the wonderful job he did, the professionalism he and his crew exhibited and the finished product cannot be beat.  Also, they did a huge amount of work in a short amount of time.  Absolutely fantastic.
Share on Band of Neighbors: 
Yes
Page Of Happiness Nominee

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

Review Date: May 24, 2013
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Category: 
Roofing
Services Performed: 
No
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
April 01, 2013
Hire Again: 
Yes
Approximate Cost: 
$10,000.00
Description Of Work: 
  1. The owner was very responsive to our request for a quote to strip our old roof from our house, garage and two small sheds.
  2. He was punctual and very professional, and provided the most explicit detailed formal quote of the four companies that gave us quotes.  After we reviewed the details of all four quotations, we called him and informed him that his quote was significantly higher (by about $3300) than two other companies.  He agreed to do the job for about $1000 less, but that was still more than we had budgeted for the job.

Member Comments: 

Share on Band of Neighbors: 
No
Company Response: 
Thanks for the review Dave! 12 year workmanship warranties on our contracts are the best in the business! There is always a price to pay for long term piece of mind to include amazing work!

OverallB
PriceC
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

Review Date: May 06, 2013
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Category: 
Roofing
Services Performed: 
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
April 24, 2013
Hire Again: 
Yes
Approximate Cost: 
$12,700.00
Description Of Work: 
Brand new roof replacement for both our primary house and our carriage house, including the porch roof of the primary house.
Member Comments: 
We thought last spring that we would need to replace our roof within a few years, and then several strong storms moved up that time table as shingles were blowing off the roof.  After having had a couple of less than desirable results with contractors, we decided to join Angie's List.  We found a couple of roofing companies with good ratings.  I interviewed 4 potential contractors and selected South Eastern Carpentry after two interviews with Stephen Chourney, the owner.  I have to say, the experience was great, from end to end.  Stephen is very knowledgeable and his crew was excellent.  They were very professional, no goofing off, they came and everyone had their tasks to complete and they did it smoothly and efficiently.  The clean up after the project was complete was top notch, they left the yard in better shape than they found it.  I cannot say enough good things about South Eastern Carpentry.  I would highly recommend them to anyone who needs a new roof.
Share on Band of Neighbors: 
Yes
Page Of Happiness Nominee

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA

Review Date: May 01, 2013
Company Name: 
South Eastern Carpentry Inc
Category: 
Roofing
Services Performed: 
Yes
* More Weight is given to a review where work has been completed.
Work Completed Date: 
April 18, 2013
Hire Again: 
Yes
Approximate Cost: 
$6,000.00
Description Of Work: 
They provided a cost estimate for roof replacement in a competative bid environment.  Steve Chorney, the President, met with insuarnce agent representatives, secured permits and performed the roof replacement and cleanup.
Member Comments: 
My entire experience with this company was truly excellent, from bid walk to completion.   I invited four firms to bid.  Of the three that responded, Southeastern Carpentry provided the most complete bid package, was clear in what was included, provided a detailed plan to move the project forward and was very focused on the safety of their crew and minimizing impacts to my home (this was very appreciated since I work from my home everyday).    While their bid was slightly higher than the others, it was clear that they had a more comprehensive bid and plan, therefore making basic change orders less likely.  Since I work with contractors across the country in my job, I look for companies that plan well as that reduces cost in the long run.  In addition, safety is important to me and is a strong indicator of how a company cares for their employees and that translates into how they care about me as a customer.  Steve also demonstrated a depth of knowledge about roofing that was stronger than the others.
They completed the bid in a very timely manner and worked with my schedule to meet with me to go over the job.   Once awarded, they quickly moved to do a temporary covering of a damaged piece of the roof so it would not leak, until the weather cleared and it was safe for them to get a crew on the roof.   For the job, communication was excellent throughout, even though I was out on business trips.  They arrived exactly on time, 0700 and completed the roofing job by 1500 hrs on the same day.   The crew was very polite and focused on the job.  They did not cuss, or at least loudly enough for anyone to hear which is important in a family neighborhood.  They were very careful in collecting the roofing debris and other trash, and when they were done they
made sure there were no stray nails, metal or other debris left in the yard.   During construction, Steve, the owner, was there the whole day and walked me around the house to discuss progress and see if I had any quesions or cocnerns.   They completed the job and the roof looks great.  Really takes years off of the look of the house.   Steve thanked me for the opportunity and they left only after he was sure I was happy with the job.
I would highly recommend this company to anyone.  Great workmanship, great communication, customer focused, safety aware and very efficient.   I should point out that Steve was the only contractor that indicated he was certain the job could be done in a day, and was confident after looking at the roof, that his bid would hold.  He was correct on all fronts.  I plan on using Southeastern Construction on my next series of jobs.   Great JOB!!!
Share on Band of Neighbors: 
Yes
Company Response: 
[member name removed],
I must say that was as beautifully wriiten as the job was completed! I thank you very much for the opportunity to serve your family and your homes's needs!!! A review like this is more of a reward than any dollars sign. My company has set forth such a high bar and I am so happy to deliver to each and every customer. I promise to all that read I will continue on and only become better at providing the best overall expereience that my mens hearts can give while we continue to climb this mountain called LIFE
Page Of Happiness Nominee

OverallA
PriceA
QualityA
ResponsivenessA
PunctualityA
ProfessionalismA
Additional Questions Answered when completing this review

How much did the final cost compare to the original estimate? right on

How does the value of the work compare to the price? I got more than my money's worth

How far in advance did you schedule the work? more than 2 weeks

Did you find the company through Angie's List? yes

If yes, which source(s)? website

Why did you choose this contractor? reputation, other, Demonstrated knowledge of the job. Planning

Have you used this company before? this is the first time I've used this company

What did you like most about this contractor? Planned the Work and worked the plan. Knowledgeable, polite, communicative, fair price

What did you like least about this contractor? Nothing meaningful

What surprises came up during the course of the work? None

What words of advice would you give other members considering this contractor? Compare value. He may be slightly more ($300 from next bid for my work) but he is an excellent planner and knows his stuff.

What words of advice would you give this contractor? Keep up the customer focus and make sure you develop a deputy as dedicated as you are. You have a bright future and never forget what got you here.

This is your space. Feel free to give us your two cents ... or quote your favorite movie? "I think this is the begining of a beautiful relationship" somehwat changed from casablanca